Lok Sabha

2024 Indian general election


The 543 members of the 18th Lok Sabha will be chosen in India at the General Elections of 2024, usually referred to as the Lok Sabha Elections, which will take place from April 19 to June 1, 2024. The results of the seven phases of the elections will be declared on June 4, 2024. With a total duration of 44 days, this election will be the biggest in history worldwide, exceeding the 2019 general elections. It will also be the longest-running general election in the nation (not counting the first general election). This is going to be the first general election following historic occasions like the repeal of Article 370, the construction of the Hindu temple dedicated to Lord Ram in Ayodhya, and the enactment of the Citizenship Amendment Act. The current Prime Minister Narendra Modi will be contesting elections for the third consecutive time.

Elections for state legislative assemblies in Andhra Pradesh, Arunachal Pradesh, Odisha, and Sikkim are planned to happen alongside the general election. Furthermore, concurrent by-elections for 35 seats dispersed over 16 states will take place.

Contemporary politics and previous elections

With two major parties controlling national politics—the Indian National Congress and the Bharatiya Janata Party—India has a multi-party system. With Narendra Modi leading the party, the Bharatiya Janata Party has been in power since 2014. June 16, 2024 is the projected conclusion of the 17th Lok Sabha’s term. 2019’s April–May saw the last general elections. Prime Minister Modi remained in his role as head of the National Democratic Alliance, which was led by the Bharatiya Janata Party, after the election.

Election schedule

The Election Commission released the timetable for the 18th Lok Sabha elections on March 16, 2024. The 17th Lok Sabha’s term is expected to expire on June 16, 2024.

Lok Sabha

Parties and alliances

In the lead-up to the general elections in 2024, Indian politics have become more polarized, with the mainstream opposition Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance and the ruling National Democratic Alliance emerging as the two main alliances.The Indian National Congress, Bharatiya Janata Party, Bahujan Samaj Party, National People’s Party, Aam Aadmi Party, and Communist Party of India (Marxist) are the six national parties running in the general elections of 2024. Everything but the BSP is a member of an alliance.

Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance

The Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance is a broad coalition of opposition parties, primarily ranging from the centre-left to the left.

The list of candidates for the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance in the general election of 2024 does not include this part.

The leaders of 28 parties have announced that they will compete in the 2024 Lok Sabha elections through the Indian National Developmental Inclusive Alliance, also known by its abbreviation I.N.D.I.A. The 28 parties involved unanimously approved the moniker that was suggested during a meeting in Bengaluru. The Indian National Congress (INC) leader Rahul Gandhi is credited in some sources with coming up with the name idea, whereas Mamata Banerjee, the leader of the Trinamool Congress (TMC) and the chief minister of West Bengal, is mentioned in others as having recommended it.

Lok Sabha

National Democratic Alliance

Bharatiya Janata Party

Lok Sabha

In January 2023, the BJP convened its national executive conference, at which the party extended the term of J. P. Nadda, national president, and reaffirmed its support for Prime Minister Narendra Modi.

PM Modi laid out the BJP’s electoral plan for the 2018 elections in an address to party workers, saying they should engage with all segments of society, including marginalized and minority communities, “without electoral considerations.”

Modi introduced his “Modi Ki Guarantee” campaign slogan for the 2024 elections after the 2023 Legislative Assembly elections.

195 candidates were on the first list that the Bharatiya Janata Party (BJP) released on March 2, 2024.

Lok Sabha

"Don't overlook the latest blog updates or opportunities to join our team! Stay in the loop by subscribing via email for updates and connecting with us on various social media platforms."

"Remain informed to discover the most recent updates in our blogosphere."

    Convey your Ideas to us.
    Your feedback is important to us.

    MI and RCB